Personal Development · Therapy

The perks of being a psychologist

For start, I am currently studying in master’s program, clinical psychology. I usually pay attention to my mates; I am interested to hear out their interests, their thoughts on specific things, their hobbies and so on. I am interested because it matters, not to me, but to those who will call them for guidance, therapy and counseling. I want to know about who I will work side by side in the future, who are the ones that will listen to people and who are the ones that will guide them.

I believe that some of the perks of being a psychologist/counselor/therapist/you name it are incredibly a must to have. And those perks stand for understanding your fellow people. I was shocked to learn that some of my mates are homophobic. I was shocked to learn that other mates are xenophobes and racists. Don’t believe that I just asked them about their thoughts about those ideas – they just came up, as a random talk. Whenever I hear this, I remain silent. I am not a pro to arguments nor serious debates. I remain silent and just move on – but with deep frustration of thinking about it. I come home, I rant, I listen to some music and I just relax and try not to think about it anymore. But it doesn’t work. Sometimes, I just want to ask them, simply, what would you do if a 17 gay kid comes to your therapy? What will they do? Will they just send them to other psychologists? Or will they try to fix them? None of those are fair. I sometimes want to go to them and ask them: How would you feel when you’ll go abroad and people will persecute you because of your nationality? I wonder, will they think about it?

Tolerance, that’s a must perk of being a psychologist. Acceptance, experience, knowledge – the next perks that you need to gain to fully understand the human that will sit on your sofa. The human being that will open himself or herself from the core of the soul.

Plenty of us have strict and straight thoughts on something – ideas, opinions, anything that wouldn’t change. But you have to let a bit of it open for something new. You can have a straight belief for something positive – if it’s something adaptable, that is more than ok. If it’s something that affects the ones that live near you, just think about it. How worth is it to hate something that doesn’t hate you back? How worth it is to hurt someone that doesn’t hurt you back?

I believe that a true psychologist knows the way towards understanding each and every human being. The key to tolerance is understanding. Understanding of what? Understanding the cause. It’s like a simple cognitive equation – every behavior has its cause, you just have to realize what is it.

Sometimes, in the minority situation, it would be great to improve your empathy as well. Just put yourself into those people’s skin. How would you feel like/if.

It’s not a rant, those are the thoughts that haunt me every time I go to courses. I keep wonder, how will they judge the people of whom they disapprove? Do they actually leave their beliefs home before they go to therapy? Or do they select clients? I am curious and I would like to know. If there is someone here who is in this situation, please raise your hand and illuminate me.

Leave a Reply

